Cleans vs. Power Cleans: Coach Dos Defends Himself

A while back Coach Dos posted some videos of his lifters doing some power cleans.  He got hammered.  The internet “gurus” and forum guys flipped out saying that his people were doing power cleans with god-aweful form, and that he must not know what he’s talking about.  He now defends himself.

I don’t normally like getting into a mud-slinging match, so I stayed out of it.  I didn’t even watch the videos until recently.  I figured it was just more guys on the net spouting off their puristic and fanatical bs. I was right.

Dos’s lifters are doing fine.  Perfect, no.  But, no one EVER is.  What guys on the net who hide behind their computers never truly understand is that in the real world, it isn’t about optimization.  It’s about doing what you have to do to get the job done.  Sometimes you accept that some athletes are gonna have sub-par form on some exercises, but you make sure they do the best that they can.  They’ll be better athletes for TRYING.  It’s in the trying that progress is made.

My guess is that all of the people who were criticizing Coach Dos have never actually coached anyone in their lives.  Let alone any competitive athletes.

Besides, Dos’s guys power cleans aren’t THAT bad.  They’re rather decent actually.  Here’s the video in question:

Yes, his feet splay wide!  Oooh.  And his elbows are too low in the catch.  Not perfect.  He needs to work at it.  But, it’s a heavy lift!  330.  He’s young, and he’ll get there.  How many Community College lifters have YOU coached that can do that?
Coach Dos defends himself:

It never ceases to amaze me when internet gurus insist on picking holes in my training videos. The funniest one is a blog that was forwarded to me drilling me about the form that “I allow” in my weight room. It was a power clean sequence of one of my kids pulling 333 x 3 reps. yes I say ‘PULLING’ as you can see if you take it frame by frame to make sure the he gets complete quadruple extension each rep (and that he does…this is the entire reason we incorporate Oly lifts BTW). The knock is that his feet are too wide etc. Oh yeah, I teach all of my kids to catch with their feet wide all the time (please note the sarcasm). I have females and lots of my male athletes who I can vid that would display clinic form on their lifts…I just happen to think that 333 x 3 is pretty special.

Here’s another vid:

This kid is much better.  Not perfect either, but very good.  The point is that there is ALWAYS room for improvement.  ALWAYS.  That’s one of the things I love about being an Olympic Weightlifting Coach.  In this sport, you can never be good enough.  It’s a constant challenge.  And as a coach I’m constantly being challenged to help my athletes improve. So is Dos.  He’s a strength coach for a college and regularly pumps out top level athletes.  He must be doing something right.

And finally he says:

Lastly, for the ‘gurus’ who have somehow become experts at the Oly lifts behind their computer desks I need to clarify something. At the blog where I got hammered on allowing such awful form they posted an example (see below) of what they considered a ‘good power clean’. One problem, it’s not a Power clean. This is why I have a prob with internet wizard trainers, when you don’t know the difference between a ‘power clean’ and a ‘clean’ or ‘squat clean’ you probably shouldn’t be hosting a ‘fitness blog’ (what exactly does that even mean? ‘Fitness Blog’…sigh).

It is suprising how few people in the fitness industry haven’t the faintest idea of the difference.  The vid:

Leave a Reply

